Saturday, February 23, 2019

A Little Bit of Heaven and a Little Bit of Hell.




Now that I have had a few days to recover my brain and body I can write this blog - if my memory serves me correctly lol...last week was crazy!

Phuket wasn't over exciting!  However I did have a really great time!  I met a bunch of solo travelers at the hostel and we all went to the beach and out for dinner at the night market and had drinks!  It was a lot of fun.  There was about 16 of us, the next day 8, the next day 5 and then we were down to 3.

We didn't really do anything wild or overly fun but we all got along so well.  We hung out at the beach for hours and just hung out in the water...it was chilled and relaxing; and it felt really good to be doing my own thing. 

There was a Spanish woman (Nancy a.k.a. Mamma) who didn't speak much English so for about 3 days I spoke Spanish with her. WOW! Was I am impressed with myself...when I try I can speak it, I know much more than I think I do.  It felt so good to be able what I have and she thought I did great so as much as my brain was tired from thinking in Spanish it was great for me :)

I was a little bored however as there really wasn't much to do - though I  did get some work done - so Vicky (one of the girls I had met) were planning on going to Koh Phi Phi for a few days (one of the Islands). But, one of my buddies from Chiang Mai decided to fly to Phuket from Bali and meet up with me so instead of going to Phi Phi, Vicky and I went into Phuket town where I got my visa extended for another month.  It was only a two hour process but it was a pain in the ass.

Then, Joe arrived!

We drank the first night, we ended up at this where the servers...well they weren't just servers and they wanted a piece of Joe if you get my drift.

The next day we bought our ferry tickets to Phi Phi and went for a game mini-golf.  I had seen this cool looking mini-golf course with dinosaurs on my way back from Immigration with Vicky and wanted to check it out.  It was fun up until the 9th hole and then we both started getting really bored...and to be honest, there weren't as many dinosaurs as we thought there would be.  I was also  winning which Joe didn't like, but we came out even so he was happy with that.

That night we went to bed early as we had a bit of a day ahead of us.

We woke up fresh the next morning, packed and went for a quick breakfast across the street.  The breakfast was good, but as we left the restaurant and walked back to the hostel (literally a two minute walk), Joe said "I'm not feeling so good."  I looked at him and shook my head. Uh oh,  we have an hour shuttle and then a two hour ferry ride to Phi Phi...please don't let us get sick. We walked back holding our stomachs.  I was nauseous on the shuttle...however that's becoming a thing now...since India actually so I am not sure what is going on with that...but we made it, the whole journey with no vomiting.

I stood up-top and watched as the big rock islands came along side the boat.  I watched in awe...this is how I pictured Thailand!  This is what I had seen in the photos! It was beautiful!


Joe was super excited!  "Phi Phi is my favourite place in the world!"  He said.  He wasn't lying.

Joe got us a buggy.  They don't have cars on Phi Phi so we couldn't grab a Tuk Tuk but there are these guys that push these huge buggies with your luggage....and yes, we were being lazy it was hot as fuck out...and someone noticed our laziness.  "Do you guys need help with your bags?"  We looked up and some guy was just looking at us like we were crazy.  "No we are good thanks."  I said smiling.  I am so glad Joe wanted to get one, it was a 10 minute walk in the blistering heat, and an 80 liter, 22.5 Kilo backpack is not fun to carry in the heat.  Don't laugh, I literally have everything in my bag,  you need it I have it so do not make a comment on the size of it!

We checked in, went to the beach, grabbed a beer and enjoyed the view.
"It's a beautiful party paradise."  Joe said.  "It is beautiful, there is no denying that. I just won't be partying the whole time."   "Emmie!  You can't come to Phi Phi and not drink!  It's impossible!"   You got that right!

We got drunk that night...really drunk..in fact...I think I have my nights a little confused.  I think I lost Joe that night?  I'm not sure but I know I woke up really hungover...and we had the boat cruise which I didn't want to be hungover for.  In fact... I remember sitting at the place we bought the tour at...drinking buckets - which by the way are lethal...two of them and you are done for the night.  The Thai woman (who worked there) very aggressively said to me while pointing at Joe. "He your boyfriend?!?"  "No."  "He no your boyfriend?!?"  "No he's not."  "You have sex with him?!?!" "No!" "You no sex with him?!?!"  "No. It's okay...you can have him."  "Emmie!"  said Joe.  "Why are you trying to sell me off?" "Because she is angry and she scares me!"  

We went down to the live bar and listened to some awesome music and after that I don't know what happened after that... I think I might have ended up on the beach alone wandering around? But I'm not sure.  But I do know I woke up with a hangover for the boat cruise and...what the fuck is that? Paint!!! Ughh I totally forgot we painted each other's face at the beach party!  I'm to old for this shit.

Bucket List Day

Even though I was hungover, I was excited for the (party) boat cruise.  We were going to Maya Bay or as you may know it; The Beach....the one from the movie.   

A bit of a background.  Maya Bay was made popular from the movie The Beach (with Leonardo DiCaprio).  Thousands of people swarmed there to visit the movie and see the view we all fell in love with in the movie.  But over the years as it got busier and busier, the beach got ruined and the wildlife started dying.  To top it off, after the filming of the movie the crew left equipment there, they didn't bother cleaning up - the crew including actors (yes that means Leo as well) are all banned from Thailand FOR LIFE!!!  That's what happens when you don't respect other places and Mother Earth!

So after years of people visiting the beach they finally shut it down last year.  Upsetting as it was on my bucket list but so good for Maya Bay itself... in the past 6 or 7 months the sea life has already started regenerating and the beach has been cleaned up.

How was it possible that we could go?  Well technically we didn't...you can not access the beach (as of now)  but you are able to swim in the water which was good enough for me!

I was excited!  Maya Bay had been on my bucket list for years, even if I couldn't actually go on the beach going there was still enough for me.

We went for breakfast and ordered...well Joe ordered us daquiries to get us started and then we went to sign in for the cruise - which I believe we had another beer.  As we were nursing our hangovers with Hair of the Dog we hear "There's the lazy people!"  We look, it took us a second,  it was the guy who had asked if we needed help with our bags the other day when we were getting a trolley.  This sparked an instant friendship and we went from 2 -3.

Our first stop on the cruise was Monkey Island.  I already wasn't a fan because I don't really like monkeys but I went anyways.  We got of the boat and hopped on a long boat to take us right to the island...as I stepped off into the water Joe says "I don't like this!"  Hahah, he doesn't like to get wet.
There were monkeys all over, smaller than the ones in India though but I was still a little nervous to be so close to them.  

I get to one spot and this guy was trying to take a piece of watermelon out of a monkeys hand and everyone was laughing.  "Not cool!"  I said already disgusted with peoples manners.  Then there was a mother holding it's baby and everyone was just surrounding it people were talking and snapping pictures.  Poor thing just sat there.  One of the guys from our boat lay down beside them to get a photo but behind him the father came very timidly and bit him and ran away.  Honestly, I was waiting for it to happen...people have no respect and I don't think we should be allowed there, if they can shut down Maya Bay to help it then they can stop taking people to Monkey Island and let them be.  He ended up going to the clinic after that cruise...a drip and $1600 was the price he paid.

 I was really excited to swim in the waters of Maya Bay...it was so amazing to be there...in the scene where the movie was filmed.  It's not a closed beach like in the movie, that was done with effects.  There is actually a huge opening which is where the boats come in and unfortunately I didn't get to see that view as we are only allowed in so far...but I did get to see the beach from where I was and it was really beautiful.   I couldn't stop staring at it.  


My friend Emma and I stayed in the water for awhile....just hanging out, enjoying the day when mid conversation I said "Holy fuck!!! I am actually swimming in Maya Bay!"  We get swimming around when I felt my arm burn and tingle a bit but I ignored it.  Then I felt it on my leg.  Jellyfish, great! That's all I need.  "I think I am getting stung"  I said rubbing my arm as it itched and burned at the same time but mildly.  "Me too!  Do you want to get out?"  "Ow, fuck, I just got stung again! Yes let's go."  We swam to the boat and as Emma started climbing up the ladder my stomach started burning.  "Hurry up!  I just got stung again!"   Sea lice!  It was sea lice, not jellyfish.  You can't sea them and it's not as painful but man does it burn.

We had another stop at Pirates Cove.  Tourists are no longer allowed in there....if they try there are 3 warning shots.  One in the air...if you keep going the second is in the water...if you continue... it's you that gets shot.  There are birds that make these nests from their saliva and the saliva apparently gives men a big penis.  One little bit of it costs about $5,000 USD (I think that's what they said).  It was actually quite interesting as I had seen this on Planet Earth's cave episode.

Our last stop  was the lagoon.   Again stung by sea lice so I decided I had enough and got out of the water and just enjoyed my beer.... I forgot to mention there was quite a bit of drinking and dancing going on the whole day...so hangover was gone.  

We were sad when it ended, it was such a great day and we now how a new group of friends and had such a wonderful day.  The sunset was perfect just like our day but all good things must come to an end. However,  Joe's friend was meeting us at the hostel so he was excited to get back and continue the drinks into the night...which was great until I lost Joe.

I ended up alone on the beach...drunk...well a little more than drunk...searching for Joe.  Then up ahead I see them...(I think this is the night I met them...I could've met them the night before but no matter what night.... this is how it happened.)   They were tall and beautiful and gay!  Ding ding ding ding...that's who I need to be with.  Now, from what they told me I walked up to them and said "Are you two gay?"  They said yes.  "Perfect!  I am safe with you then."  I literally crawled into their lives but it ended up being a fantastic friendship as you will see.  I stumbled...I fell, I slurred...apparently I fell over and said "it's okay, I was just sitting down."  Classic me, trying to be smooth and elegant hahaha.

The Pool Party (2 times)

Hungover as hell the next morning, hating life I knew it was gonna be another big day.  It was the hostel pool party!  And man, was it ever a party!  Talk about drinking away the hangover, beer after beer, song after song...and everyone from our boat cruise was there so we all partied together AGAIN.  We were in the pool all day, we all turned in to prunes; we were water logged... so much so, when I got out to go to the toilet my feet felt like they were full of water they were so heavy! We partied all day and well into the night... well I did I know that because I lost Joe...AGAIN!!!

So on the beach I ended up again only to run into my favourite two people who I ended up calling "my couple."  It turns out they were there on their honeymoon, they had just gotten married a few days before I met them and they were spending another week there as their honeymoon. They named me their Honeymoon Bitch!

I was able to walk this time except instead of stealth sitting moves it was stealth peeing moves.  Instead of falling and saying I was sitting while actually falling over I would walk out into the shallow waters (I had on a t-shirt and bathing suit)  and slowly bend, my knees touching and lower myself into the water.  "Oh, there she goes again, taking a pee."  They got a kick out of it but I ended up losing them and it looked really weird and probably obvious when I was sitting in the water alone with a bucket waving at people who walked by.  I am a piece of work!

The next day I was done.  I had started losing my voice on Saturday and now Monday morning I didn't have one,  I felt awful, I had a cold coming on and I felt like a drug addict coming off drugs.  I am done!  I need to leave today! I was supposed to leave but I was too hungover and I couldn't be fucked to pack my shit.  I was seriously not doing well.  I messaged Joe (he was in a different room) and we met for breakfast.  

George had met two girls the night before while he was on the beach and they also joined us for breakfast.  It was a shit show...they were literally so good for my severe hangover...and I mean severe.  I could barely function or eat and when we went to the pool bar the thought of beer sounded awful but I figured hair of the dog would straighten me up....it did ... I started feeling human after a few hours but definitely not fully human.

This is when I met Michael. He was at the bar talking to everyone and him and I started talking, and talking and talking...we literally talked for hours and hours.  We went walking the streets for hours, just wandering, talking, laughing and eating.  It was really nice just to hang out and not drink or party...the rest of them were off somewhere meaning I lost Joe...AGAIN!  Hahaha, at least this time I wasn't alone, crawling around drunk lol.

We went down to the beach, grabbed a beer and walked as far down as we could to get away from the music.  The beach is lined with hostel  bars that just ooze music and bad bass all night, and it is so loud you can not hear the person next to you. It's so difficult to find a place just to sit down, chill and relax a little.  It was quieter at the far end but we could still here the beats.  After about an hour we decided we were hungry again and went back for some padthai (so yummy).

After we filled our bellies again we headed back for the beach.  That's when I saw them, my couple.  "Oh my god Emmie!!!"  They gave me big hugs and kisses.  "Wow! I'm surprised we are actually friends considering my state the past few nights."  " Oh my god!  This is the first time we have actually heard your voice and your sober. Wow! this is great!"  We hung out with them for a bit, it was nice to be around them while in a semi-normal state as I was still feeling my hangover.

I got to bed around 1:30am but was sober and it felt good.  I had decided to stay one more day and leave the day after (Wednesday)...but plans change frequently when traveling.

Michael met me the next morning and we went and hung out at the pool at his hotel.  OMG!  It was so quiet and chill...it felt so good to get away from the beach strip.  No beer, no people and no beats pounding constantly.  Honestly, I was still feeling my hangover, my voice still hadn't fully come  back and I was starting to get a cold but the serenity of his hotel overrode all of those things. However,  it was the pool party at the hostel that day and  when we were leaving one of our friends said "So we will see you at 2 ya? For the pool party?"  "No mate, don't think we are gonna come." But, we wanted to go and check up on the kids - we were the oldest of the group, barely drinking or partying.  We watched things unfold and heard stories from the others and nothing ever involved us, we had no drama...we were quite entertained to be honest and we loved it...some even called us mum and dad... we got a kick out of it.  We went, had a few beers, got in the pool but got out after awhile and said goodbye.

"Emmie, your still here?  We thought you were leaving today!"  " I just need another day to get my brain sorted I am leaving tomorrow."  Ya right!

Again, we went for padthai and hung out on the beach but this was the first night I didn't see my couple, I was upset as I wanted to see them before I left.  Lucky for me I can be persuaded into things - or is it unlucky - and decided to stay yet another day.  There was another boat cruise, Joe was going again and Michael had been trying to get me to go since the first day so I finally gave in and said "why not!" and I am so glad I did.

Bucket List (Again)

"Emmie, you're still here? Weren't you supposed to leave Monday?  It's Wednesday!"

I stayed sober, I had three beers but wasn't going crazy like the first one; plus I still felt hungover from the weekend and my cold was getting even worse.  This boat cruise had way more people on it and half the boat was intoxicated before we even left the pier.  

We watched things take place in front of us, we both love to people watch so it makes for great entertainment.  We didn't  get out at Monkey Island, I didn't enjoy it the first time so why visit it again...and again, someone got bit by a monkey...3 times... for the exact same reason...trying to get a picture with mum and baby!

I was looking forward to Maya Bay but again, I got stung by sea lice and so did Joe this time.  It really makes you not want to get back in the water, it really fucking stings and it's unpleasant, ughh.

"We are almost at Maya Bay - The Beach." Michael said to someone on the boat.  "Cool.  Why is so famous?"  Pardon me?!?!  Most of the people on the boat had no idea why it was famous, they hadn't even seen the movie, thats how young they were, but wait...they all new the words to No Digity and sang every word when it played on the boat but no...they didn't know THE BEACH.  AS IF!!!

Michael and I hopped in a kayak and went over to the other side which they call Mini Maya.  We thought we were just gonna kayak through an archway  and go around the big rock island but when we went around it we came to a little beach.  We kayaked up to the sand, got out and turned around. 


We were looking at The Beach from a whole other perspective...it was fantastic.  We turned around and there were these big droopy trees half encompassed by a rock wall that went so far up our chins where at a 180 degree angle; and all over the sand there were little statues made by rocks.  It was
beautiful.  I felt like we were the first to discover it,  we thought we were in an area that they had filmed the movie but apparently not.  We were amazed and just stood there looking at the view.  One of our buddies had swam all the way over and got stung doing so but he didn't seem to mind as it was well worth it.  In fact, this spot made doing the boat trip a second time so worth it! 

That night we did the same thing,  ate padthai but didn't need to go far on the beach.  Considering the hostel was on the beach, "my couple" was sitting at one of the picnic tables just outside of it which was perfect.
"Hey good looking."  Steven said.  "Hey." I responded with a smile.  "I was talking to Michael." He said laughing.  "I'm your honeymoon bitch.  Don't forget that," I said laughing.  "OMG...last night was the first night I didn't see you guys on the beach, it was devastating! We looked for you most of the night!" Seriously, I was devastated.  Denys and Stephen had become such a huge part of my night time ritual it actually didn't feel right when I didn't see them.  I already had a huge place in my heart for them in the little drunken time I had spent with them, and spending this sober time with them was great...well I was sober, they were 10 buckets in? 

Because I was 100% sober, Steven thought it was a good time to remind me and tell Michael of my drunken encounters and gracefulness of the past few nights since we met.  We were laughing so hard, and my blurry mind began recalling things I may have wanted to forget.  The love that "my couple" showed me with no judgement was amazing and I truly felt a long term friendship forming.

Around 1am I decided to call it a night.  I had actually gone inside to put a sweater on as I had a bit of a fever...my cold was getting worse meaning I still hadn't began to feel 100% since the first pool party.  And no... I wasn't leaving the next day.  I had to wait for my money to transfer, but, I was gonna move to a guest house, I couldn't take the noise and the lack of sleep being on the beach.  I hadn't had a proper sleep in 6 nights and I was crashing; hard.

Pool Party x3

I know I know, you're seeing the heading and you are already judging me.  I am saying how sick I am getting but yet I attend a pool party... look at the title of this blog post Heaven and Hell are both in it...you should be beginning to understand why it's called that now.

The next morning I moved into a guest house, Michael helped me carry my bags.  As we were leaving one of the guys from the boat cruise said "So we will see you at 2 ya? For the pool party?" "No mate, don't think so."  As we were walking away I looked at him and said "I'm kind of tempted."  "I know, me too."  "This place really pulls you in." He nodded.

He dropped me off at the guest house where I planned to get some sleep in.  I was exhausted and sick and just wanted a nap but it was next to impossible.  It was so hot outside that the bed felt like it had a heater inside of the mattress.  It was so hot my bottle of water heated up and the water was to hot to drink.  I stripped down naked and aimed the fan at me thinking it would help. The part of my butt that the fan did not touch felt like it had the sun beating down on it, it was that hot... I was lying in a pool of sweat.... just like Guadalajara all over again.  Fuck this!  I can't sleep! I messaged Michael.  Pool party?  ... Yes!

I put on pool party attire and then quickly went to reception.  "My room is really hot, like really really hot." She nodded with a look on her face that said I know. "Would you like to switch rooms?" "Absolutely!"  Without the air on it was cooler...sleep will be possible.

"We knew you would come!"  Was our welcome, and the other one being. "Emmie you're still here?!?  Weren't you supposed to leave Monday, it's Thursday!!!" 

We actually had a really good time, we had a few beers and I loosened up for the first time since the first boat cruise.  I was still quite sick but I was not hungover, I finally felt normal. 

When I got out to go to the toilet a love song came on.  This is a nice change I thought, not really noticing it was a bit strange.  I was confused at the crowd and why everyone had their phones out and then... oh now I get it. One of the staff members had a fake rose and when he opened it up there was a diamond ring in it...he was proposing to another staff member.  The tears started leaking from my eyes.  This guy beside me looks at me "are you crying?" "ya"  I said.  He pulled down is sunglasses and he was crying to.  He grabbed my hand and he held on to it while we watched the scene in front of us take place.  It was truly beautiful...especially on Valentine's Day.  Two other girls I met were bawling their eyes out, literally everyone was in tears...this made for a great pool party. No regrets.

We got a little tipsy actually, but nothing crazy...that's because mum and dad didn't have the kids to look after hahaha.  Joe and them actually weren't there, they had rented a villa to get away from everything for a day... I haven't seen him since :( but we talk every day.

It was my real last night Phi Phi, I had purchased my ferry ticket to head to Koh Lanta the next day so I was on a mission to find "my couple" and spend one last night with them on the beach.

Michael has a good eye, he spotted them almost immediately - I wouldn't have seen them.  I ran straight for Steven, he saw me coming, ran around in a huge circle and straight for Michael, hugging him first. 

We had a blast.  The four of us laughed so hard that night.  We had a few drinks...I was still feeling sick but I was gonna push through until the last minute.  "OMG Emmie! You have shoes today!"

Okay, rewind.  In my first three days on Phi Phi I lost two pairs of new sunglasses and both pairs of my Havaianas I got in Mexico, one being the pair from my girl trip to Playa with Ana.  I didn't even remember wearing them.  I looked all over and asked around and I couldn't find them.  I walked around for days with no shoes.  The bars, the streets, the restaurants. I ended up getting blister that made it hard to walk and then we met a girl who had cut her foot because of lack of shoes.  "Please buy some shoes!" Michael said.  "But they are fake Havaianas and they look like shit!"  "Seriously?  Who cares you need shoes."  I'm so glad I listened to him, I was paranoid about getting cut, that's all I needed.  I've had so much shit happen to me during my travels and a cut foot isn't something I wanted. Fake Havaianas it was.

This was the first time "my couple" had seen me with shoes - well flip flops.  It was a really great night...the music on the beach was even a different play list as for the last 7 days and nights even on the boat cruise and at the pool party it was all the same songs, but this night it was switched up which gave the night a little more flavour. 

Two girls started talking to Steven and Denys for a few minutes and when they were finished I said "I'm sorry, I thought I was your  'honeymoon bitch' who are they?"  "Don't worry Emmie, you are our only one!"

The night was coming to an end.  I was starting to fade and I could feel my fever kicking in.  It was time to say goodbye to "my couple."  The end of an era - my time on Phi Phi had come to an end.  I was really relieved to be leaving but now looking back, Phi Phi is my heart of Thailand.  I didn't cry, but we gave each other big hugs and said how much we loved one another and thanked each other for the incredible nights that we shared.

I miss them.

I was on the ferry by 10:45 the next morning.  The ferry was old and I honestly said prayer that it wasn't going to sink while I was on it. 

15 minutes before it got to Koh Lanta, I grabbed my backpack and lugged it up the steep steps along with my other two smaller backpacks and stood outside and watched the scenery.  A baby screamed the whole time and I mean screamed... I swear the other ferries passing us could hear it.

When we docked we were beside another ferry so we had to go down the outside stairs, cross the gap to the other boat  - which is not easy with an 80liter backpack of 22.5 kilos - then climb the ladder like steps to the top of the other ferry and across a ramp to the pier.  I was safe, we didn't sink, but I was sweating and wanted to get to the hostel - which I hadn't booked into so my fingers were crossed.

Now I have been on Lanta for a week. It's quiet and not really touched by tourism so it has the real Thailand feel to it.  My cold is almost gone and my head is not blurred anymore.

I kind of miss the craziness of Phi Phi.  I really had a fantastic time there and do miss it...as much as it is my heart of Thailand, my heaven it's was also the bane of my existence while I was there, my hell...but those are usually the best times shared with the best people.

                                                                        - My Beautiful Life -








Sunday, February 17, 2019

Bike Trips - They Definitely Keep Things Interesting! Thank God for Angels!

I love Pai.  It's beautiful.  Mountains all around with luscious green trees just blanketing everything...so refreshing after India.  The views were breathtaking especially when riding around on a moped - which we did for two days.   It really was a great place to just chill out and enjoy the scenery and small town of shops and food stalls.  We ate so much at the night market...I had a food baby in my stomach for a few days but it was well worth the satisfaction.

One of my favourite things was the Rabbit Cafe.  You order a coffee or tea and you get to chill with a rabbit on your table.  You can pet it, feed it or just cuddle and love it...great way to pull people into your cafe...we only bought something to play with the rabbits hahaha.

The days were hot but the nights were cool so it made it easy to sleep in especially with the comfortable beds we had at the hostel.  When I got up in the morning I was excited for night time so I could crawl back into bed under the big duvet that I wrapped around me like a cocoon just with my head sticking out.  It was heavenly. 

The night we got there everyone (in the hostel) had tickets to a rave so after everyone left it was literally just Anouschka and I at the hostel... it was great, it was so quiet.  Our plan was to just enjoy, not really party and do some day trips while we were there.

Two of our dorm mates (Ewan and Oli) from Chiang Mai were also in Pai and we planned to do two days with them on mopeds.  They had already rented them so we paid for the gas.


Day Trip No. 1

We were going to visit Lod Cave about an hour and a half ride from where we were....well...Google Maps said about an hour and a half but for us it was maybe two and a half hours. 

Driving on a moped through the country side is way better than going by car or tour.   The freedom to stop and take photos, the feeling of the wind in your hair, the smells of nature.  It is honestly such a breath of fresh air (no pun intended) after India...it is soo green here....luscious green every where all different shades here...and it's clean!

I was a little nervous at first being on the back of moped especially because ours wobbled a bit and didn't like hills.  It actually slowed down when we went up hills, we both had to lean forward hoping it would make it up.  Every time we got to one (and they are steep) Ewan would be like "oh great!"  But we made it ... well...except once. 

"I think you're going to have to get up and walk this one Em. I don't think I can make it up with two people on it."  "It's okay no worries."  "Okay I will just meet you at the top of this bend."  So I hope off and Ewan drives away.  I got a kick out of it... I thought it was hilarious!  Anouschka and Oli are driving around up and down hills no problem and here I am walking up one because we almost had to Flintstone it going up. 

Meanwhile at the top of the bend Anouschka and Oli and stopped to wait and only see Ewan on the bike.  "Umm...where is Emmie?!?"  Anouschka asked.  "We couldn't make it up with the bike, so she is walking up."   "Oh boy,  Emmie hates hiking!"

We continue on for a little bit but needed gas so we stopped at this tourist stop on the side of the road with a view point, food, gas - which they pour from a glass bottle and this four person swing.  It kind of looks like a ferriswheel but it's four swings, quite high off the ground and the weight of the people move it around.  It's interesting to watch but none of us had any interest in doing it ourselves as it is a complete accident waiting to happen - and we ended up seeing someone fall off who got quite hurt.

We drove through the windy roads enjoying the scenery but never seemed to get to our destination.  I had my Google Maps on but it seemed like we were driving to far...and we did ... about 10 kilometers too far...in the wrong direction.  So we back tracked and finally made it to Lod Cave.

It was honestly not what we expected...in a good way.  We thought we were going on a bamboo raft ride through a cave for 20 minutes but we were very happily surprised.   You get a guide that walks
you through with a lantern.  The entrance to the cave is just beautiful all the limestone is different colours as well as the stalagmites and stalactites.  There are little bridges to walk over and staircases  bamboo staircases that just take you higher and higher in the cave where it is surprisingly hot and stuffy.  We saw carvings on the wall, old coffins and stalagmites that looked like popcorn and stalactites that came down forming huge pillars with the stalagmites they met below it.  It was never ending but incredible...sometimes you feel your insignificance on this planet...you feel like an ant in this incredible natural beauty.

We got on a bamboo raft and went into the dark cave.  All you could see were the other lanterns on the other rafts, and you could hear the sound of the fish jumping all around the rafts - you can buy fish food to feed them so now they chase the rafts for food. 

As you come around a wide bend the cave opens up to the world outside... a picture perfect scene of the greenery and sky outside framed by an arch like opening... it was incredible.



After another climb up and down we took the rafts back inside the cave and then were led back to the beginning... all in all I would say it was an hour? maybe longer?  All I know is we were impressed and it was worth the drive.

Ewan however wasn't keen on having me on the bike on the way back.  "The brakes are shot!  I'm uncomfortable driving it especially with you on it."  But there were no buses at this time and I had to work at 5 so we had no choice.

If I thought I was nervous on the way there try on the way back.... it didn't take us as long because we knew where we were going but going down the hills was nerve wracking and probably more so for Ewan.  He's a good driver though and knew he had precious cargo on the back ( yes mum I told him before we left) and he drove carefully and smartly.  We got back safe and sound with no scratches...just me with some shaky legs and the guys wanting to switch their bikes for our day trip the next day. 

Day Trip No. 2

We didn't end up going the next day as the guys had bad stomachs ... but it was fine... Anouschka and I just had a chill day and napped in our comfy beds! But that was after my little incident. 

I was meeting Anouschka down at the hostel bar for lunch.  As I walked out of our dorm I felt something on my back.  My mole moved and felt like it was falling off... that's weird  I thought.  It kind of hurt.  "Nousch is there something on my back?"  She looks. "It's a tick!" "You mean like a skin tag?"  thinking she didn't have the right words as English isn't her first language.  "No, I mean a tick."  "I'm not sure what you mean by that.  Can you take a photo?" I almost vomited when she showed me...she wasn't confused she really meant a tick.  "Oh god.  We have to get it out...this is so fucking gross. Oh my god, oh my god, oh my god."   "It's okay Emmie, let's check with reception"  "Reception?!?" 

We got to reception.

"We have things maybe your friend...."  "I'm not touching it!" Anouschka said before the woman could finish.  "Okay," she said.  "I do it."  "Umm, have you done this before?"  I asked nervously. "Sure!  I take one out of horses tale, no problem!!"  Fuck!  I am far from a horses tale.  I am a human with a tick lodged in my mole.  "Okay, no problem."  It hurt but she got it out "no problem" and covered me with a bandage. 

Completely grossed out I went and ate lunch and then took a nap in my comfy bed to forget about my ordeal of my new little friend.

Ewan showed up the next day on a new bike with more power and better brakes but there was no Ollie...so we waited, and waited and still he didn't show up.  "I'm gonna go look for him, you girls stay here in case he shows up...I will message you." 

About 10 minutes later Ewan messages me "Ollie lost his wallet so we are trying to find it."

10 minutes later "Ollie found his wallet!"  That guy has a horseshoe up his ass.

We walked into town and met them for a drink, Ollie had to go back to the police station to get his wallet in an hour so we were just killing some time.  When he went back to the police station they told him "nobody ever gets their wallet returned with cards and money, youre a lucky man."  Then they all took a photo with him holding his wallet up saying "lucky man! Lucky man!"  And that he was.

It felt so good being on a bike that made it up the hills without an issue.  "That feels so good being able to drive right up," Ewan said.  "Tell me about it. At least I know I won't be walking this time." But I didn't know I was wrong in saying this but that comes later.

Our destination was about a 10 minute drive from us this time...not a crazy two hours so the drive was easier...well actually not so much.  Anouschka and Ollie had a bit of a fender bender not even 5 minutes into our drive.  There was a bus in front of us that Ewan considered passing but decided against it...however the bus moved to the right to let us pass and as that happened Ollie went to pass it on it's right side and it ended up hitting him and Anouschka and they hit a parked moped.  FUCK!!!  They were fine no one was hurt, maybe just shaken up and Ollie had a scratch on his leg.  They were lucky.

Our first spot was the Land Split.

 A farmers land is on a fault line (which they didn't know) and every so many years he would wake up with a huge split in his land.  It is now a tourist attraction with beautiful hammocks,  fresh juice,  homemade jams and banana chips that they give you when you walk in and after your hike in the land split all for a donation...whatever you can afford!  It was really wonderful...but hot as fuck!  We had to choose the hottest day to go climbing in a land split...we were drenched!  But it was well worth it and quite interesting.  The owner of the land is fantastic with amazing English.  It was fun just speaking with him.  I think all together we spent about an hour - an hour and a half there and then headed off to the bamboo bridge.

The roads were windy like the previous days drive but the road wasn't paved so it wasn't as smooth but Ewan and I were able to get up the hills no problem and it was easy to stay just behind Ollie and Anouschka whereas the other day our bike was so slow they were miles ahead.

The bamboo bridge is exactly what it sounds like, a bridge made out of bamboo and it goes on for miles turning this way and that way.  It's through the rice fields so the people can still get from one side to the other.  If I have learned anything in Thailand...it's that bamboo is strong as fuck!!! and it makes for a noisy bridge.  It was a shorter day than the last but we had plans for the night market that night so we decided to head back.

As I said before the roads were just as windy but not paved so it made for a not so smooth ride, but we had working brakes this time.  However on these roads that doesn't necessarily mean anything.  We got to this really big hair pin turn going down, nothing we hadn't done before. As usual, Ollie and Anouschka were in front of us and as they went around the curve Ollie put his foot on the ground to help with control - something I had seen him do before, however this felt different and something inside of me said that something wasn't right.....

Now before I go on, I need to rewind about 4 days, a day before our first day trip with the guys.  I kept having this vision of us being on the bike and us falling to the left with the bike on top of us.  Now even with the first day we had a shitty bike but when they showed up with new bikes I didn't feel we were in the clear....I was right.

Now back to the curve...

I didn't lean like I was supposed to and for some reason instead of turning Ewan kept driving straight but we didn't stop, we were going just to the side of the guardrail where there was a cliff.  Very quickly my vision  became my current reality...we needed to act fast.  Ewan somehow lifted his right leg and held the bike up from falling over. I wrapped my arms around his waist and jumped off and he let go of the bike and it crashed on it's right side just like in my vision except we were standing unharmed.  While this was all taking place.  Anouschka had heard something and turned around and just see's Ewan and I jumping off the bike. 

The bike was still on as it lay on it's side and when Ewan went to pick it up it started spinning almost hitting us. Once everything settled down I looked at him and said " I think I will walk down."  Nousch walked with me.   We walked down a few curves until we met up with them again.  " I am so glad you walked." Ewan said.  "It was honestly pretty bad coming down."

We'd had enough of bikes at this point and were happy to get back to the hostel.  "I couldn't turn the bike."  Ewan said after.  "What do you mean?" I asked.  " I physically couldn't turn the bike, like the front just wouldn't turn."   "It's probably a good thing, we could've been really hurt.  We had a fucking angel with us today."  I truly believe something stopped that bike from turning...had we of turned it wouldn't have ended so nicely.  I know we had an angel with us that day but I will keep her name to myself... but thank you for watching over us.

That night we met the guys in town...we didn't want them to pick us up on the bikes lol.  We were meeting them at the night market which they hadn't been to.  It is the best way to eat and boy did we eat.  What ever one bought they shared with the others.  Nousch and I had already done this but it is so much better with four people haha.  Honestly...my favourite night market so far - for food.  My stomach was satisfied and I believe I put on a few extra pounds ... but happy pounds.

We went and had a few drinks with them and then said goodbye as we had an early bus the next morning.  We were heading down to Phuket and the bus was a 25 hour ride... oh yay!!!

It honestly wasn't that bad.  Two meals are included and the chairs go right back and we had heaps of leg room because we were at the front.  It wasn't that bad except Nousch's feet were right by the door and the hostess (yes they have them on the buses here, they bring you water and snacks) also closed my fingers in the door. All she said was "sorry."  At 530 they wake you up just to give you bottles of water and your free meal ticket and then you get off the bus for breakfast at 6am!  6am!  Are you fucking kidding me! We were not happy, nor did we eat breakfast.

We were staying in different hostels so when the cab dropped me off I hoped out and we planned to meet up that night but it never happened.  Phuket happened and a meet up with a friend from Chiang Mai happened and then it all happened.

                                                              - My Beautiful Life -







Sunday, January 27, 2019

Into the Jungle

The Jungle!  It was a great two days...we came out with some scrapes, bruises, blisters and sore calves...but we made it out alive.  However I would like to remind everyone here...I HATE HIKING! Well, trekking... it's not my thing especially when all you have is a pair of converse, which I might add and make a note to myself that they are not meant for hiking let alone long distances.

Our first day started off really early...about 6am.  We had to get up, get our stuff together, check out and get our ride for 6:45.  We were going to the tour place to drop off our bags and meet up with the rest of the group.

We were exhausted as we only had about two or three hours of sleep because our 12 bed dorm had been full for the first time the night before and our new roommies were loud so we weren't functioning at our full potential.

We were confused as we weren't sure what was going on, we didn't know we were going to the travel place until they brought us there and when we asked questions the woman who was in charge was a bit aggressive with us... in fact...she seemed like a completely different person from the day we purchased the excursion.  Pffft.

We hoped in our safari jeep around 7:30am and set off on our two day adventure.

Our first stop was a market where we at some of the tastiest Tom Yum noodle soup and it was super cheap so we were starting off great.  We wandered the market a little bit, looking at the bugs and and a large table of pigs heads and feet...not something I want on my plate.

We drove for maybe a half hour to our next spot which was a waterfall...it was beautiful but cold as hell so we took pictures as quickly as we could so we wouldn't freeze.  After that we went to hot springs.

The first spot to the hot springs was what seemed to be a resort of some sort where we got into a mineral pool and enjoyed the hot! water for half an hour.  We then headed up to the hot springs where we had an amazing lunch of fried rice and chicken.  You can not sit in the hot springs...they are way too hot, the water just bubbles some areas looking like mini geysers because they are boiling so much with a constant flow of steam rising of them.  I guess that's why the sign at the mineral pool said to boil your eggs in the appropriate area.

Anouschka and I were a bit unsure about our group but we managed to break the ice with them and ended up loving everyone.

The hike:

When we booked the excursion we were told it's a three hour hike up a mountain but you stop every 45 minutes.  It also involved a half hour into the jungle the next morning to look for the elephants.  I really wanted to see elephants so I decided to suck it up and do the excursion..... little did we know it was under-exaggerated - if that's even a term..

Three mountains...baby, momma and poppa....smallest to biggest.   Baby was a bit challenging but 45 minutes and then we got to stop at a little village - though I think it was more of a hamlet.  It was really beautiful with a great view, chickens, pigs (and a really big one that was snoring in his sleep), dogs and refreshments. 

I looked at their houses, built out of wood and on stilts, clean, beautiful and very good up keep. We were out in the jungle and this place was cleaner and better looking than most buildings or housing in India.  The animals were healthy and there was no garbage...it is so refreshing to see after India.

Anyways...after about a half hour there we were off to hike Momma....this one being a two hour hike!!! Two hours!!!  She was the toughest of all of them. It was exciting getting to the top it was another milestone climbed which mean we had just one more to go...but we had to make it down first.  This was the hardest and worst part of the whole hike. 

Our guide - Chai - made me and another person walking sticks made out of bamboo which was a game changer, especially going down.  It was slippery, and Converse have no treads and I am still paranoid about my ankle.  It was bothering me in Goa so I know it's still not 100%, and going down over stones and rocks would make it go in different angles.  I was walking like a grandma going down only leading with my right foot as it's more comfortable for me that way...I feel like it protects my foot.  "I think my legs are going to start shaking soon."  Said Anouschka. "Hahaha, I'm already there, every time I put a foot down my thighs just quiver."  "Fuck my life." She said.  "You like hiking remember, I hate it.  But there are elephants over there."  I said pointing.  "To the elephants." 

Sliding rocks, mud,  cracks in the path which made the walk more challenging and a bridge or two that  I just walked over without even hesitating.  I couldn't believe it...I looked straight, walked slowly and just walked - it was a proud moment.

I was very concentrated walking down, trying not to fall and break or re-break something when I heard rocks slide, I turn around and Anouschka is sliding down the hill swearing in Dutch.  She slides into the trees and was only inches from hitting her head on one.  She looks at me and continues to speak Dutch.  "Nousch, I don't speak Dutch."  "Right.  Okay I'm fine." She said getting up, brushing stones and dirt off of herself and heading down the mountain.  She didn't even scratch her camera.

We weren't informed of the conditions we would be walking in...we were told running shoes but clearly hiking shoes would've been safer and my feet would've been happier.  I guess that's why they need our passports for insurance...sudden death could happen?

I HATE FUCKING HIKING!!!

My feet were blistering along with my hands from the walking stick and I had a massive bruise on my left knee from I don't know what.  I was not enjoying myself and just wanted it to be over.

We had another quick stop in a village/hamlet.  I took my shoes off and put some bandages on my baby toes - so happy I packed them.  That's when I noticed the sole of my shoe had broken and my right shoe now had a mouth,  it wasn't just my blistered feet talking to me it was also my right shoe! 

We were off to hike Poppa...our last mountain.  THIS WAS THE EASIEST ONE!!! Only 45 minutes...and much easier on my feet and the conditions were much better.  It was very exciting getting to the camp...I knew the worst of it was over.

I could see the elephants in their area but they wanted to have a bit of a meeting with us and by the time we were done the elephants were gone for the night as they roam and don't come back till morning. 

The camp was great, clean, beautiful but man does it get gold in the Jungle at night.  Thank goodness we brought some layers with us and each of us was provided with about five big blankets on our beds...well mattresses - double sized, with a massive  mosquito net that we could tuck underneath our mattresses protecting us from jungle spiders because the guys we were with didn't seem overly keen on saving us if there was one.

We bundled up got some beer from the fridge and went up to the bonfire where we were also served some Happy Water - their rice wine or their alcohol made from rice that is similar to whiskey...very strong but sweet.  Then we had an amazing dinner, there was so much food we couldn't even eat it all...rice, sezchuan vegetables, pineapple curry vegetables and I can't remember what else.  Then for a snack after dinner they gave us black rice cooked in a bamboo shoot, you put honey on top and then eat it....OMG  there is  so much food in this country I love it.

They made us a paper lantern.  We all wrote our wishes on it and then we took it out into the open area in the camp lit the fire inside of it and let it go up into the sky and into the stars.  It was so beautiful.  They even attached fireworks to the bottom so they went off as the lantern went up.  We watched it till it went out.  And the sky....OMG the sky out there is incredible.  You can see all the constellations, but where you would normally see an area of black sky was just clusters and clusters of stars, I've never seen the sky like that before...I would like to share the pictures with you but they are in my mind not my camera.

We spent a few hours at the bonfire drinking beer, happy water and tea.  They made homemade cigarettes - tobacco and tamarind fruit wrapped in a banana leaf....they made us three and they were massive...one lasted the 7 of us 45 minutes.  Even the non smokers were smoking them because they were so good.

We played games.  They had match sticks so we had to figure out the puzzle...it was a great way for us to bond. 

Four of our group members were from Bavaria and all they did was sing.  When we hiked they sang Back Street Boys, Britney Spears, U2 - but no Jusin Bieber...he wasn't allowed, but David Hasselhof was - even after I told them I was a Bieliber they still wouldn't budge.  You could say anything and they had a song ready to go so playing these games for hours was a bit of a musical.  Well the whole two days was a musical with them.

Three things you need when trekking in the jungle:

1.  A Bavarian
2.  A funny Bavarian
3. A funny singing Bavarian

Get your Bavarian here at www.buyyourbavarian.com  and if you would like to listen to their music check out their band PURCHASED!

Hahaha they were good fun.

We got to bed at 11:30 and I was pooped...2 hours of sleep and a hike in the jungle...goodnight!

They woke us up the next morning around 6:30 or 7 (I'm not sure) but we began our morning walk into the jungle to find the elephants.  Let me rewind here for a minute...morning walk.  Remember the half hour walk into the jungle we were told about?  Well the night before at the camp they said it could be two hours - that's fine - but a walk.  Not another fucking hike up a mountain with no tea, coffee or fruit in our tummies before we left.  I wanted to cry, my feet were so sore and my calf's were screaming and the terrain was shitty.  Elephants, just think of the elephants.  Ughh, have I told you how much I hate hiking?!?! Plus I woke up with a wonky head...it was heavy and telling me it was going to rain (which apparently it had that night) so I was dizzy.

I was tired, hungry, my head was dizzy  and I was annoyed.  "I'm really sorry but this isn't what I signed up for...I was told a 3 hour hike and a half hour hike into the jungle,  this has turned into a 7 hour hike up 4 mountains. This isn't enjoyable."   "Okay," said Chai.  "You walk back to the camp and wait for us there."  Seriously!  I have struggled the most and you want me to walk back on my own, I get lost going to the toilet.  Elephants, think of the elephants.  

Chai's phone rang - yes you can get service in the jungle - he spoke for a few minutes and then we kept walking.  "Sorry guys the elephants have already gone back to the camp so we are going to go back."  FML  I could've stayed in bed.

The Elephants:

They were so beautiful!  I couldn't stop looking at them.  We fed them for maybe an hour and took pictures with them.  They were behind a low fence but it just kept them from wandering into the camp...they had access to the river and the jungle. 

They smell you with their trunks and they will reach out for the food.  Their trunks sound like there is a constant airflow coming out but it is just them breathing/smelling you.  When they crunch their food it is so loud and man do they eat a lot.  They have beautiful eyes (though sad), big ears, rough skin but they are so gentle.

After breakfast when everyone was sitting around I went back down to the elephants and talked to them.  I wanted to stay with them forever, they are after all my favourite animals and it took my whole life to finally meet two of them and I didn't want to say goodbye.

We packed our stuff and watched as other tours came to the camp to see the elephants.  We were all a bit sad to be packing up...we wanted to stay another night and hang out with each other but it was almost time to go.

We headed down to the river as it was time to bathe the elephants.  The Bavarians got in the freezing cold river and I took some photos.  "They have already been washed," said Anouschka who had been sitting on the river bank for about a half hour.  "The guys forced the elephants to sit down and stay there for 15 minutes...I don't like it."  We watched the elephants get washed by the Bavarians...you could tell that the elephants weren't really enjoying it.  They slowly got up and made their way out of the water and back up to their area of the camp.  We didn't get to wash them but I was okay with that, I didn't want to make them stay...I was just happy I got to meet them and take some amazing photos.  The one I had been petting closed her eyes when I rubbed the top of her trunk...my heart filled with joy.

The last part of our excursion was a two and a half hour bamboo raft ride down the river - they had just  made the bamboo rafts that morning.  This was a lot of fun especially when we went over some small rapids.  There was singing going on from both rafts due to our musical Bavarians. 

At one point we came close to a tree so the three of us sitting down bent low,  however, one of the guys was helping steer from the back, he went to bend down but it didn't work out for him...SPLASH!  "Man overboard." He was fine and was laughing about it even though he was completely soaked for the rest of the trip.  His girlfriend also had her foot go through two of the bamboo pieces when she was trying to take a picture for us.  She was okay but we told her to sit down to take it.

We stopped off at a restaurant on the river where we changed and had amazing Pad Thai for lunch with two extra plates....massive plates....piled with more.  I was so full but it was so good...it's so hard to stop eating here.

We hopped in our safari jeep and started heading back.  Something in my head clicked and I opened my bag "My jacket!  I forgot my jacket at the restaurant!!!"  We knocked on the back window for them to stop.  "I forgot my jacket."  "Do you need it?"  No I'm telling you this for fun, to let you know but please keep driving.  "Yes I need it."  "You might not make your shuttle to Pai if we go back."  "That's fine, I need my jacket."  They stepped on the gas and we sped around those tight curvers hugging the mountain side while the other side dropped into the river below....my jacket was there!

Our shuttle ticket said 3:30 but by the time we got there it was 3:52.  "Your shuttle will be here in 10 minutes!"  We waved goodbye to everyone, blew kisses and they were gone.
After five minutes we were told we couldn't stay inside the bus station because they were closing for the day. So we moved all of our stuff outside and waited.  We had asked the girl at the station when our bus was coming but she didn't speak English.  We called the travel place..." between 4:30 and 4:445."  Why the hell was he in such a rush for us to get there...we had plenty of time!

Literally as soon as I hung up the phone the shuttle pulled up but being the last ones we had to put our stuff on the roof.  I have 22kg, 80 litre backpack it's not that easy to lift, but we managed.

This was probably the longest two hours ever.  There was no room for my feet because I have two smaller bags, Nousch had hers between her legs and there was a guy on the end.  The driver said I wasn't allowed to have my feet up on the little ledge in front of my (it was as high as my shins- the drivers seat is raised) but I told him there was nowhere to put my feet so requested my flip flops to come off.  We drove for what seemed like an eternity back into the jungle at full speed. We made it out of the jungle alive please let us make it to Pai alive.

Two long hours later we arrived in Pai.  The streets are small with no cars, just motorbikes and we needed a taxi because we had all of our stuff.  We got a taxi but it was a moped with a big basket on the side that held all of our luggage and us.

I could barely walk up the stairs to the hostel when we arrived... I HATE FUCKING HIKING!

We met up with our roommates from Chiang Mai and had some beers with them and then the whole hostel went to a rave so Nousch and I were the only ones here so we slept like babies.

Yesterday we went to the pool around the back of the hostel and just hung out in the sunshine and listened to some really great tunes.

Today... well we aren't sure yet...she is still sleeping...I need to wake her up so for now that is all.  My calves are still in pain I can barely stretch in bed in the morning or walk like a normal person but it was worth it for the elephants.

My heart is happy! (but I still hate hiking!!!)

                                                - My Beautiful Life -



Thursday, January 24, 2019

A Warm Welcome


The taxi ride from the airport to the hostel seemed to take a lifetime.  There was traffic and their stop lights literally seemed to be red for 5 minutes or longer; and everyone just sits there and waits.  I mean, in a traffic jam no one tries to crazily get by or cuts each other off.  It's really controlled, respectful and quiet.  I mean...no one honks their horns!!!  It was the quietest ride I had had in over 3 months...and clean!!! OMG there are no piles of garbage all over the place...these two things literally put me in shock, though didn't help my feeling of anxiousness.  I was so exhausted and just wanted to get to the hostel and the not moving and my driver just staying in the centre lane and not moving into a lane that was moving faster was making me anxious.   I looked at the time on the map 29 minutes.....27 minutes.....30 minutes.....29 minutes.....29 minutes....29 minutes.  We were at 29 minutes for 29 minutes lol.  I finally made it where Anouschka and Nick and a beer waiting for me!

Anouschka had mentioned "taking it easy," but that never happens the day/night you arrive to a new country....you need to celebrate!  So after a beer and a long over due shower....OMG.... a shower with pressure and hot water!  I felt like a new woman and was ready to check out the famous Khao San Road!

Our first stop was food and OMG!!!  It was fantastic....in fact...the food here is just fantastic all around.  It's literally a food lovers heaven here.  Every 2 steps there is a food vendor on the street....during the day the street is lined with them and you can literally just snack as you are shopping with freshly made chicken skewers, spring rolls, pad thai, meat balls, sweets....honestly my stomach has been a little too happy since arriving here.  Anyway, back to Khao San Road.

I wasn't sure what to expect but it definitely showed me a good time.  Music, street dancing, alcohol at the bars or you can just buy them at the 7 elevens and walk along the street. Oh and the 7 eleven's here are the best!  There cold food section is amazing... you can buy packaged onigiri and pack them in your bag for a snack,  there are rice bowls and grilled cheese sandwiches you can heat up there....again heaven for a food lover.

We partied all night.  We drank beer and did deals on the buckets.   A friend of ours almost got arrested for peeing down an alleyway but was lucky enough to get off with just a warning.

We attempted going to a ping pong show but got there and changed our mind so we went back to Khao San and continued the festivities.

One of the things that gets me is the bugs.   When we first went out we were sitting eating dinner and people come up to you trying to sell things which is fine but then one came up and offered us fried scorpions and spiders!!! Ughhh .... OMG I am arachnaphobic

Anouschka was tired so we walked back around three but I still wanted a drink so I found a road with a bar and sat down with some guy and talked for awhile and then I sat with another guy from Czech Republic who spoke no English.... I was drunk enough to ask the Thai people if they spoke Czech lol....even with my translator he didn't seem to understand.

Most of our days were spent wandering the streets and eating the amazing food.  We went shopping on our second night...well tried to anyways.  We came across this store with amazing clothes so we started pulling stuff of the racks and wanted to try them on.  There was no change room so we had to change in a little area of the shop.  When I was going in one of the skirts fell on my foot and I lifted it so it wouldn't touch the ground and the guy yelled at me.  He then proceeded to tell me I couldn't try everything on.... "it's a place to buy not try!!!" He said.  "Don't you want my money?"  "Okay....you only try 4 pieces...you choose one.  If you no choose one you can't try anymore.  You buy here, not try."  I was asking him why he was being so aggressive with me, told him to calm down.   When I chose my 4 pieces he then checked to see that the skirts were different styles as I couldn't try the same style in a different colour.  When Anouschka came to join me she had a beautiful jumpsuit she found inside of the shop (we were in the outside part).  When I went to go inside they told me I wasn't allowed...that it was a different shop!  "She has stuff from in there, why I can't I go."  He just started yelling at me.  I was really starting to lose my patience at this point but I bit my tongue.  Just as I was about to try on a skirt Anouschka started pulling her tank top down and the guy lost his shit swearing at Nick.  "Fuck you fuck off...you can't do that in this country.  Fuck off fuck off!!!"  "LETS GO!!!" Said Nick.  We took the clothes and tossed them onto the table, the lady who worked there just looked at us like we were being rude.  The guys screamed at us as we left "I kill you, I want to twist your neck, fuck you, fuck you!!!"   Totally sucks, we really wanted the skirts and shorts, we were ready to spend money in there but apparently he doesn't want people spending money in his shop.  We went and got the most amazing foot massages instead, however my feet still had Goa dirt on them, even after showering a few times lol....let me tell you how exciting it was to have a lukewarm shower with pressure...I was like a new woman.   Anyways, I apologized about my feet.  "No worry." He said as massaged in between my feet cleaning the dirt away as he did so ... it was amazing.

The WiFi here has been great!!!  It has been so amazing to actually work...I get excited to work because I love what I do and now have a great connection with just the WiFi from my Thai SIM card.  It's been great.   It was bad in India, especially Goa, I ended up losing one of my contracts with a school because the connection was so bad.  I usually just teach in the dorm room, on my bed. The other night when I was teaching everyone walks in the room and I am saying "lamb...lamb...lamb.  Great job mom no please let me hear her do it. I really need her to s speak.  Can you say lamb....lamb...thats right you circled the cow, moo...but can you say lamb...lamb." When I finished the class everyone looked at me and said "lamb, lamb, lamb."  You gotta love dorm rooms!!!

On Sautrday we went on a half day tour.   First was the train market which was really cool.  The market is set up on each side of the tracks.  Fruit, clothes, nicknacks, a butcher, a restaurant its got a really nice vibe, especially the parts with the awnings out as they give it an cozy feeling.  Announcement comes on to announce the arriving train. Everyone adjusts their things, pulls in their awnings and just watches the train as it slowly passes with people waving from the windows.  The wide bottom of the train going over the goods that are close to the track.  It was exciting and interesting and we really enjoyed ourselves.


Next we were off to the floating market.  You can take a boat through and shop around and order food from other boats who sell fruit or cook soup and meats right there on the boats.  We walked around
because there was too much boat traffic so we enjoyed the shops and the best Tom Yum soup (now my favourite meal) from a little woman in a boat pulled up to the side of the walk way.  We sat down on little stool and just enjoyed.   After an hour and a half of wandering and eating we got in a motor boat and went through the little village on the outskirts of the market.  It was a really wonderful day!

The next day Anouscha and I took a night bus to Chiang Mai and Nick stayed in Bangkok to meet up with a friend.  The bus was great!  It was $24 for a 12 hour bus ride, you get a bottle of water and Oreo's, a dinner stop - FREE dinner!!!  Seats that go all the way back, lots of leg room and a free taxi ride from the bus stop to our hostel!!!  WINNING!!!

So now we have been in Chiang Mai for a few days and have had a really lovely time. I have met up with a friend I met in Ibiza and havent seen in 17 years.  I met up with Ben (we traveled in Peru and Ecuador together) and haven't seen each other in 4 years so it was really awesome to catch up with him.

We got free hugs from the man giving out free hugs just outside the old town walls.



We have ended up in a great hostel dorm.  We get along really great with our dorm mates and we are meeting them in two days in Pai.  However we have had two different sets of people have sex two nights in a row in the bunk next two us.  The first night it was just the bed creaking last night I walked in and turned on the light and well.... I still have the image in my head and don't really think you guys want the image so I will just leave it there.

Now, we have to be up in 5 hours as we are going on a two day jungle trek with waterfalls, elephants, hot springs and more.  I'm super excited.

                                                                 - My Beautiful Life -